Friend News & Events

Homecoming Activities with Chemists in mind (2018)

Posted on: September 27, 2018

Homecoming 2018 – Schedule of Events Friday November 2 3-4:30PM  Career Event (Salem 2nd floor) – Alumni talk (individually or in small groups) with small groups of students for 10-15 minutes before student groups shift to other alumni – not unlike speed dating.   Alum who would like to participate should contact Al Rives (’76) […]

Cassidy Brown (’06) – Young Alumni Awardee

Posted on: March 30, 2018

During Homecoming 2017, the Friends of Chemistry announced that Cassidy Brown (’06) would be the 2017 recipient of this year’s Young Alumni Award.  She joins Kerry Pickin Paumi (2016) and Peter Tarsa (2015) in this list of impressive young Chemistry alumni. Cassidy received her BS in Chemistry as well as a BA in History from […]

Eric Olson (’77, PhD ’82) – Distinguished Alumni Awardee

Posted on: July 24, 2017

We are proud to recognize Dr. N. Eric Olson as the WFU Friends of Chemistry – 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.  Eric has built an amazing career at the MD Anderson Cancer Center, and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, and we are proud that he is associated with Wake Forest Chemistry. Eric grew […]

Kerry Ann Pickin Paumi (PhD 2002) – Young Alumni Awardee

Posted on: July 24, 2017

We recognize Dr. Kerry Ann Pickin Paumi (PhD 2002) as the 2016 Young Alumni Award recipient. Kerry has shown exceptional dedication and success in the areas of teaching and service while building her career at Centre College in Danville, KY, and we are proud to call her a WFU Chemistry alumna. Kerry attended Wake Forest […]

Homecoming 2017 – Schedule of Events

Posted on: September 30, 2016

Friday September 15 3-4:30PM  Career Event (Wake Downtown) – The focus this year will be on careers associated with the new programs centered at Wake Downtown, Medicinal Chemistry,  Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Engineering.  While this is aimed at current students, alumni are welcome to come and chime in on the questions, or just take […]

New Feature on Current Majors

Posted on: December 9, 2015

Who are our majors?   As a complement to the Where Are They Now? and Where Are They From?, Who are our majors? highlights a few of our Senior majors. We expect to update this feature annually, as new groups of students declare a Chemistry major. We will also archive the entries so you can […]

Homecoming Reception and Demo Show draw big crowds

Posted on: November 20, 2015

The Biology Chemistry and Physics departments came together on Homecoming Saturday to host the Deacon Demo Show and the Science Alumni Reception. Such activities began with the Chemistry department at Homecoming 2008, and has grown to include Biology and Physics over the past 3 and 4 years respectively. This Year the Demo show included presentations […]

FoC Career Event focuses on Chemistry and the Law

Posted on: November 20, 2015

This year’s Career Event focused on “Chemistry and the Law”. The panel included patent attorneys Nitya Anand (’10), and Erin Hoffman (’01), technology transfer specialist Partha Choudhury (PhD ’15), and corporate in-house counsel Karen Ware (spouse ’00). Contributions from the management-side were also made by Jim Harton (’74). This was the 6th year of the […]

Harton takes over as next Steering Committee Chair. Hoos and Batten join Committee.

Posted on: November 20, 2015

This year Jim Harton (’74) steps into the role of Chair after two years of major contributions on the Committee. Jim was the president and CEO of Solvay North America, and now holds the same position with Eco-Services, the nation’s leading supplier of sulfuric acid. Joining the Committee this year are Willie Hoos (’89) and […]

Roy Ware finishes term as Steering Committee Chair

Posted on: November 20, 2015

Roy Ware (PhD ’00) completed his 3-year term on the FoC Steering committee at the recent Homecoming. He joined the Steering Committee at the 2012 Homecoming; becoming the first PhD alum to serve. At last year’s Homecoming, Roy took over the leadership of the Committee from Keith McDowell, and he led deftly for the past […]

Log in